14th Presidential Elections

The Indian Presidential Elections 2012 – All you wanted to know
Who is a President?
The President of India is the head of state of the Republic of India while Prime Minister is the head of the government. The president is the formal head of the Legislature, Executive and Judiciary branches of Indian Democracy and is the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces.
How the term President of India originated?
It was the decision of the architects of Indian Constitution to sweep aside the King and Governor General and replace the same with office of President of India.
How is president elected?
President is elected indirectly for a term of five years. The President is elected by the elected members of the Parliament and the elected members of the state legislature assemblies. Vote of each MP is equal while an MLA vote’s value depends on the state he belongs. Article 55 talks about uniformity in the scale of representation of the different states in the presidential election. But in most of the cases the MLAs and MPs vote according to their party’s will.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *